Book Review: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

10763598I’ve only ever heard good things about Laini Taylor, especially since Strange the Dreamer hit the shelves. And I’ve had Daughter of Smoke and Bone on my bookshelf for some time now, so I figured, why not start it? Get into the Laini Taylor hype.

I’m going to reference this book in parts.

Part One:

Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love. It did not end well.

Reading that gave me chills. I was already in love with it. In the past I read a demon and angel book and I didn’t like it at all. I wrote them off forever, but like I said, Laini Taylor.

I loved part one. Karou, and Zuzanna. I love their names. I love their dynamic. I loved that Karou just accepted Brimstone and his circle. Yeah she had questions, but it didn’t stop her from loving them.

And the attention to detail.

“Her knife was in her boot, hard against the knob of her ankle, the discomfort giving her comfort.”

I was R E A D Y to love this book.

Part Two:

Once upon a time, a little girl was raised by monsters. But angels burned the doorways to their world, and she was all alone.

I dove straight into part two. A new character was introduced. I wanted to learn the dynamic that was going to build between him and Karou.

And the book went downhill from there.

It was almost instant-love between the two. But the momentum was still there. I still read through part two pretty fast. All I did was dread any time the book was in Akiva’s POV. All he would basically talk about was Karou and the pull he felt with her.

Karou always described him with ‘fire in his eyes’ ‘the heat of his touch’ ‘I wanted to grab his hand and I knew he did too, but he was fighting it.’

And there was a breach of third person a few times. I’m pretty sure that part one was in 3rd person limited, but the book started to switch between limited and omniscient.

I still gave the book a shot. I knew there had to be something that would make me overlook everything else. There had to be.

Part Three:

Once upon a time, an angel lay dying in the mist. And a devil knelt over him and smiled.

Coming into part three, I knew this would be the redeeming part of the book. I wanted it. I was ready for it.

We got some backstory on Akiva. And more. And more. And more.

Karou kind of just disappeared. She wasn’t mentioned again really. And the last time we saw her, it ended on a pretty big cliff-hanger.

Part three was more or less backstory for Akiva. Three more characters were introduced.

Madrigal. The name had been mentioned previously, so I knew she was a pretty important character. We got a few chapters in her POV and I read through them. I just wanted Karou though.

I wanted to go back to the present.

I didn’t really care about the love between Akiva and Madrigal. I. DID. NOT. CARE. There was no build up to anything. It was just desire.

Part Four:

Once upon a time, there were two moons, who were sisters. Nitid was the goddess of tears and life, and the sky was hers. No one worshipped Ellai but secret lovers.

I didn’t know what to make of the intro for part four. But everything that I read in part three, came to an obvious conclusion. It was so obvious that I was 100% positive that I would get back to Karou.

And I did.

But not in a way I thought.

There were a few chapters in Karou’s POV and the rest were in the past again. The events were dragged out. I think Laini Taylor lost her way half-way through the book. Karou’s incentive seemed to have been forgotten.

Karou didn’t take action at all. She was kind of just there.

And I don’t like Akiva at all. Laini didn’t do much to make him a likable character.

The ending would’ve been a good cliffhanger for the next book had I liked it. But when I read the “To be continued…” I closed to book and was like, “Finally.”

I’m now worried to read Strange the Dreamer. I haven’t bought it yet, but I was going to. I might just rent it from the library.

3/5 will not finish the series.

Leave a Reply

