Book Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

a court of wings and ruin.jpgI feel cheated.

Disclaimer: This review will have spoilers.

*

*

*

*

I’m assuming those of you reading this have read all three books, so I’m not going to summarize the first two. I’m going to jump right into ACOWAR.

From the ending of ACOMAF, I was under the impression that Feyre was going to Fuck Shit Up™ in the Spring Court. I thought she was going to be there for a good chunk of the book. But she was there for less than 100 pages. I got over that pretty quickly. I was like: “Okay, they have a war with Hybern to prepare for. They’re going to be in battles and Feyre will Fuck Shit Up™ then.” And she did in the Summer Court with Mor. That just got me even more hype for The War.

Shortly after the attack in the Summer Court, all seven High Lords met to discuss strategy and alliances. Even Tamlin. Let me just say, I forgive Tamlin. He has a lot more to do, character wise, but I don’t hold a grudge against him. Back to the meeting, no one got that far. They bickered too much. It was a headache to read those chapters.

Let’s go to the next shit that pissed me off.

Nesta.

She’s a complete bitch. Don’t get me wrong, I like her savagery, but what’s her damage? Give Cassian a break. He’s only trying to help. Everyone is. And if Nesta has such a problem with her father (I’ll get to that) then why wasn’t she the one that stepped up to save the family?? Why’d you let Feyre, the youngest, take on that weight? You can’t have a problem with EVERYBODY for no reason. Get over yourself, Nesta.

There were a lot of times when the pacing was off. Scenes that should’ve been short (like the meeting with the High Lords) dragged out, and scenes that should’ve been longer (like when Feyre goes to see the Suriel) were too short. Speaking of the Suriel, that brings me to my next point.

Death.

Before the book even came out, I knew that one of the Inner Circle weren’t going to make it. All throughout the book I was looking for foreshadowing. And I picked up a lot surrounding Cassian. I prepared myself for his death. I knew he was gonna die.

“It’ll take more than that to kill me,” Cassian said with a smirk that didn’t meet his eyes.

Elaine only said to Cassian, “No, it will not.”

Cassian said to Rhys, to me, to Nesta, “I’ll see you on the other side.”

I knew he didn’t mean the battlefield.

Cassian grunted in pain, but lifted his bloodied hands— to cup her face. “I have no regrets in my life, but this.” His voice shook with every word. “That we did not have time. That I did not have time with you, Nesta.”

Cassian said softly, brushing away the tear that streaked down her face, “I will find you again in the next world— the next life. And we will have that time. I promise.”

But he didn’t die. There was tons of foreshadowing surrounding his death. I. Was. Ready. So, then I was freaking out and wondering whose death I wasn’t prepared for.

The Suriel was the first to die, and that one shocked me. And then the Bone Carver died. And then the Weaver, and then Feyre’s father. It was just death like every 20 pages. And when Amren decided to sacrifice herself, I was content with that death because Amren was okay with it.

And then Rhys died too. His death caused the most sad reaction I had from the book. I didn’t cry. I knew that Maas wouldn’t kill him. And I was right. They resurrected him the same way Feyre was brought back. All the High Lords were there. And it would’ve been fine had the resurrections ended there. But Rhys brought Amren with him. And just the fact that two characters came back from the dead, paragraphs apart—it ruined the authenticity of the book.

I love Amren, but she should’ve stayed dead. She’s the one death I think everyone would’ve been okay with in the end.

And I wish this is where the problems ended but I have three more things to bitch about.

One, Mor. I love her character. And I know that Maas is a problematic fave when it comes to diversity. But to wipe away Azriel and Mor’s 500 years of history and angst by making Mor gay… Like come on. That wasn’t planned. That was a half-assed excuse as to why Mor and Azriel won’t be cannon. It was like a lame excuse. A cop out. And Mor should know that out of everyone, the Inner Circle will accept her. Azriel might be mad that she strung him on for so long, but he’ll get over it.

Two, the battles. I mentioned earlier about Feyre Fucking Shit Up™ in the Summer Court. But that’s the only place she did it. She bitched and complained to Tamlin about allowing her to train her powers and Rhys let her. And then when the battle really counts. And when they’re low on numbers anyway. And Feyre happens to be almost as powerful as Rhys… She watches from the sidelines.

She. WATCHES.

Where is the badass High Lady of the Night Court???? She was such a disappointment. And then because Feyre was watching half the time, the book lost its realness. The book became a lot more telling than showing. Maas should’ve cut the POV to Cassian if that were the case. Or some other soldier. Rhys or Azriel.

Why did you do this Maas??

Lastly, Lucien. Out of the whole book, Lucien had the best character development. Things with Tamlin are still a little sketchy, but they’ll make up. I don’t think Lucien and Elaine are good mates. I really hope Elaine rejects the mating bond. But that’s not what this is about.

It’s about Mr. Archeon(?) stealing Lucien’s glory. Lucien went to find a cursed queen and he doesn’t??? But Feyre’s dad does. The man that’s been absent physically and mentally. Like what? Maas, why did you take this away from Lucien? He was absent for half the book for no reason. What the fuck?

I can’t comprehend why this book is so sloppy. All of Maas’ other books, even in the TOG series, are spot on. They make sense. Pacing is set. Maybe it’s the first-person vs third? I don’t know but please don’t fuck up the ending to TOG.

Maybe because you squished this story into three books is why it’s so bad; maybe there should’ve been a fourth. Draw things out a little bit more. We’re already waiting two years for the final TOG. I’m sure waiting for a fourth book won’t be a problem. But whatever. I just hope the spin off series are good. I will check those out. But for now, I’m just really disappointed that this book wasn’t what I was told it would be.

3/5

Leave a Reply

