Book Review: A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

25558608.jpg

I liked the writing style from the first book, but I feel as if the writing got worse since. It might just be a personal thing, but Tahir didn’t use contractions and it pissed me off. Not only that but the transitions between, not only paragraphs, but sentences themselves, was lacking.

The relationship between Keenan and Lila was forced. I didn’t really see them together. Plus I wasn’t a fan of the whole love square that was going on.

I would’ve given up on the book had I not wanted to know a certain thing about one of the characters. But once I found out, I only finished the book because I only had a hundred pages left.

Another thing I didn’t like was that I wasn’t able to focus that much on the story. I found myself having to reread paragraphs because I wasn’t sure how they got from A to B.

There’s one scene when Elias is in a dream and then the next sentence he’s mid-movement or something. There was no transition.

3/5 will not continue the series.

Leave a Reply

