Book Review: An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

an ember in the ashes.jpg

Where do I start?

I liked this book a lot. It was a steady page-turner. It kept my attention. I do have a few complaints. At some points in the book I wasn’t sure what was going on. The transitions between scenes needed to have some type of divider to show that a new scene was starting.

But I really liked the complex relationships between Elias and Helene.

I really hope Lila knocks some sense into Elias’s sexist comments though. I’m really not happy that he uses the phrase ‘like a girl’ as an insult. So I’m hoping there’s some character development in that department.

I’m excited to read the next book. I’ve had it on my shelf since it came out. I’ll probably start it tomorrow.

4/5

Leave a Reply

