Book Review: The House of Hades and The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan

The House of Hades and The Blood of Olympus. Where do I begin?

So I listened to audiobooks—and well, with The House of Hades I used my kindle, my paperback copy, and an audiobook to get through it. And to be quite honest, I didn’t like what I was reading/hearing. I was rewriting sentences in my head; picking different words. But then, when I got like halfway through the book, I started to enjoy it.

I’m a fan for alternating POV’s and for 3rd person, but I don’t like it with this series. I like Rick’s way of writing first person. I think I would’ve been a little more attached to the characters had it been in first person.

I just wanna point out that I hate Cupid and I hope he gets pierced by a real arrow. I hate what he forced my son, Nico, to confess. Fuck him.

The battle at the end was satisfying to a degree. I don’t remember it much but I don’t know if that’s because it wasn’t significant enough.

Anyway, I was quick to read The Blood of Olympus afterwards but my motivation was because I wanted to talk to my coworker, Natalie, about it.

I don’t remember much of what happened in Blood of Olympus, and I think it’s because I listened to more than half of it on an audiobook. But I finished it with my paperback and I remember the ending.

First, I want to mention how the battle in Athens literally made me cry. I did not expect that onslaught of emotions. It overwhelmed me and caused me to realize why I love Rick Riordan so much.

Anyway, on the final battle with Gaea, the Earth Mother/Goddess (giant?) That battle was short. It lasted a chapter. And the chapter was like four or five pages. I wanted more action. And then at the end there was so much talk about the battle.

The ending was a letdown. I was more interested in the characters and their relationships. Particularly Nico. And I just don’t like Piper and Jason as a couple.

Even if it did reduce me to tears, there was still something missing. And it was probably because I listened and didn’t read both books through and through.

Whatever it was, it won’t stop me from reading Rick. I’ve already started The Sword of Summer. I know nothing about Norse mythology, so I’m excited.

5/5 (for both)

 

Leave a Reply

