The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

13623848I wish there was a way to express screaming through text. But just know that I’m eternally screaming.

Okay. I can’t even collect my thoughts right now. And I don’t know what it is about the book that makes it so good. Maybe it’s that everybody knows that in Greek mythology, Achilles dies. So from the get-go we know he doesn’t live a fairy-tale ending in this story.

His relationship with Patroclus is very cute and innocent from the start. It did take a few chapters for the two to be in the same room, but it was well worth it. They weren’t ever ashamed of their sexuality which I adored. And no one criticized them for it either. I kept waiting for one of them to say that they should stay a secret but Achilles is such a romantic like I should’ve tabbed all his one-liners to Patroclus.

I had been told by many people that I would cry rivers with this book, but I didn’t shed a tear. My eyes watered at this one fucking line that Achilles said. Like holy shit I memorized the page number so I could flip the fuck out when my friend reads it.

It was such a beautiful story and a very compelling read. I couldn’t stop turning the pages. The names were hard to pronounce half the time and if you read my Six of Crows review then you know I have problems with that. I still struggle to say Patroclus’ name. I shorten it to Pat on occasion.

When I got to the end of the book I got very antsy and I had to stop reading several times to curse in frustration. Like Odysseus tried and that little fucker…

But truly a beautiful book.

5/5

Leave a Reply

