Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan, and Deborah Baincotti

zeros

“Why do people like to watch stuff blow up, anyway? It’s so stupid.”

That quote sums up my feelings about fireworks. Its probably the only thing I’ll agree with Scam on.

But anyway, on to the book review. When I picked up this book I figured I’d like it. And I was excited to finally read something of Scott Westerfeld’s. Its not entirely his work which it took me half of the book to see those two author names under his.

But the book was good? Medicore at best? I won’t be reading the second one is what I’m getting at.

The story was good. I didn’t really connect with any of the characters. I think I liked Crash the most and she only had a handful of chapters in her POV. I found myself skimming through a lot of text because the situation called for quick sentences to keep the reader interested. Too many times there was too much details and metaphors.

I also didn’t like Nate. He always had a second agenda even if it won’t be reached for a while. But he wants to be a politician so that doesn’t really surprise me.

Flicker was probably my second favorite. Her power was pretty neat and she seemed like an innocent sweet girl. I want someone to teach her how to kick someone’s ass.

Scam is a slimy cheeseball. Kelsie I feel is underdeveloped. She has potential but right now she seems to be put on the fragile pile and that Scam is going to be the one to save her.

The story is lacking something and I can’t quite put my finger on it. (Maybe it’s Anonymous) read the book and you’ll understand.

3/5

Leave a Reply

