And I Darken by Kiersten White

25324111

So first I want to start off with saying that I promised myself to never read a book by Kiersten White after the Mind Games series. But I couldn’t not pick up this book after seeing the cover (UK edition) and reading the synopsis.

I love reading about empowering female protagonists. I’ve been on a role lately with that sort of thing and I have no intention of stopping.

Lada is fierce. In this world she knows what a being a woman means: get married and have kids. That’s all that’s offered to her in this world but she says NO. She sticks around boys and plays with boys all through her childhood to prove a point that girls can do what boys do.

She earns her respect.

She is a ruthless warrior that will take what is hers.

The pacing of the story was nice. It kept me interested that’s for sure. The book was a page turner. I can’t wait for the second one to come out. I need to check when it comes out.

5/5

PS. I love that she doesn’t let love rule her.

Leave a Reply

