Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

throne-of-glass17167166

I’m not going to lie, I was a little annoyed at how this series started off. I was so hype about an assassin story. And Throne of Glass proved just that. She was a badass always looking out for herself even if it wasn’t completely acknowledged. I also love that it’s told in alternating POV’s (3rd person limited). Celaena Sardothien proved her worth in Throne of Glass. 

In Crown of Midnight, I heavily considered not finishing the series because this badass assassin that everyone feared, wasn’t killing people that she was contracted to. It went against the whole assassin thing. But then halfway through she redeemed herself and HOLY SHIT.

There were like three plot twists and I’m a slut for plot twists. They weren’t expected until Maas was building up to the reveal but even then it came as a shock.

Celaena Sardothien is bae.

The Crown Prince, Dorian, I love him too. His little reveal was interesting and I can’t wait to learn more about it. I’m really psyched about Heir of Fire because of the alternating POV’s and the location of specific characters.

Choal is an amazing character too. Very nobel and loyal. He’s relatable in the sense that he tries to keep things together by omitting information thinking it’s the best but in the end it’s just a major ‘fuck you’. He deserves better.

But lets face it, Nehemia is the real MVP.

The story kept me on the edge of my seat. I read through them fairly quickly. The pacing was on point and there was never really a boring chapter/scene.

The thing that I really love is that even though Celaena is this badass, amazing, and best assassin in Erilea, she still makes mistakes and gets injured. She has scars and injuries throughout both books. Maas didn’t overshoot her character by making her flawless. She did the complete opposite which I really think helped sell the books.

One thought on “Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

