Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

illuminae

What a work of art. Holy shit this book is a master piece.

I didn’t know I needed this book until now. I bought it because of the cover and it sounded mildly interesting and the second book, Gemina, is coming out next month which is why I started it. But it’s a quick read despite being nearly 600 words (599) to be exact.

The book includes space, colonized planets, artificial intelligence (AI), a badass protagonist, two plot twists, some freaky virus, and it’s all told in case files, video logs, video files, chat logs, etc.

Kady Grant is the protagonist. She lived on an ice planet, when the initial attack began. She has attitude that reminds me of myself so I could identify with her quick. She’s a computer wiz and hacks everywhere on the ship that she evacuated on. There were three ships.

The book was nicely paced. It built anticipation and delivered when it should be delivered. Everything fell into place perfectly. I was worried at the beginning at keeping track of the characters because it felt like a lot were introduced, but I got the hang of it pretty quickly.

Parts of the book are formatted so strangely but it works. Everything works. This book must’ve taken some time to create.

My favorite part of this whole book is ADIAN, the AI.

5/5

Leave a Reply

