Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

 

439288 I’m really mad at myself?

Yes?

No?

Maybe?

I really wanted to like this book. I really did. I’ve been recommended this book by a few people and I always looked at it on the shelf in bookstores but I never got around to buying it.

In one of my classes a few months ago it was an assigned read (or so I thought). I finally got to picking it up and reading it.

Big mistake.

I’m so anal about formatting and active voice vs. passive voice (school made me that way) that I knew from the first sentence that I would have trouble reading this book.

It’s not formatted like a typical book. There are no indents for each paragraph and there are spaces between each paragraph. I’m sure there was something behind the way it was formatted, but I didn’t get it.

I also didn’t like how the dialogue was written:

Melinda: I am sad.

That’s how it was written. I’m not a fan of that.

There were a few line that were redeemable and I actually marked them to share with you all:

Why is it that you never see a kid dressed as a groom on Halloween?

When talking about immigration: 

I think the white people who have been here for two hundred years are the ones pulling down the country. They don’t know how to work— they’ve had it too easy.

It is easier to floss with barbed wire than admit you like someone in middle school.

I really liked the last one because I happened to read that after discussing crushes with my best friend.

But I couldn’t get any farther than 119. I hate giving up on books. I really do, but I couldn’t read this one anymore when I have Throne of Glass taunting me on my shelf.

2/5

Leave a Reply

