A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

a-court-of-thorns-and-roses

So I just want to point out, before I get into specifics, that Sarah J. Maas is the best. Um, she didn’t fall into that trope where the female is a virgin. Thank you. So much. Thank you.

And to begin.

Something I want to point out is that this is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. It took me longer than it should have for me to realize this (disclaimer, Beauty and the Beast is like my least favorite princess movie). And although it’s my least favorite princess story line, I found myself really enjoying this book.

Other things that I typically don’t like are fantasy, romance, and faeries. And well this book had them all. My best friend, Beverly, said that I’ve probably just read some really bad fantasy books in the past and I’ll attest to that.

Sarah J. Maas is redeeming me with this wonderful series. I’ve not started the second one yet but I really cannot wait to. I just got both books through the mail today–hardbacks too. I understand all the hype about this series. I can’t wait for Throne of Glass.

I’m not sure how to break down this book in a review that would be satisfying. The romance wasn’t rushed and continued at an even pace. Um, the plot had twists and turns, unexpected, might I add.

Part of me is kind of mad that I didn’t read this book sooner, and part of me is mad that I did read it because now I have to wait for the third when I read the second.

5/5

Leave a Reply

