Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K Rowling, Jack Thorne, John Tiffany

29056083

This story is lowkey problematic for me. I hate to say that because I work in Diagon Alley but I think that’s the reason why I’m unsatisfied with this story. It’s just not as authentic as what I’m surrounded with several days a week.

Something that many people don’t know about this story is that it’s the play. Meaning, that it’s written in play format. Another thing is that she didn’t write the story. And you can tell that by reading it.

Harry and Hermione say some completely out of character lines. And yes they’re both parents so it’s assumed that they’ve matured since The Battle of Hogwarts, but there was just some personality things that were missing. I wish I marked it down in my copy so I could quote it.

Besides the unrealistic characters, the story was lacking. It felt rushed. The story started where The Deathly Hallows ended but it really should’ve started in year four (I think it was) when the ball started rolling (pun not intended). If they had started it there then the story could’ve had a lot more potential and they could’ve slowed the pacing down a little. Part of me wants to blame the pacing on the fact that it was a play and not a novel so they couldn’t really have fillers.

Nevertheless, story and characters could’ve used some revising.

Other than that, Albus and Scorpius totally had a thing. If they haven’t figured out they’re gay for each other yet, they will by graduation.

But overall, the story felt like fan fiction. The names of Harry’s kids and how the story involved the seven books already, and how they portrayed Snape. I hate saying this about Harry Potter, I’ll always have a soft spot for the fiction, but this could’ve been better. It had potential.

3/5

Leave a Reply

