The Countdown by Kimberly Derting

26116440

FYI, this may be the last book review I do in a while. I’m starting to read trilogies and I think it might be best to review the whole series in one post rather than splitting it up.

But here we go. The Countdown the final installment in The Taking Trilogy. This book was good. Definitely not as good as the first book, but it wasn’t too bad.

There were a few things that threw me off and that would be the random POV change. The whole series was in Kyra’s POV and then in like chapter three of this book it jumped to Simon’s and then Tyler’s before going back to Kyra and the patter repeated. It threw me off but the font was different and each chapter was headed with the POV so I didn’t get confused or anything.

The love triangle developed into a love square if that’s even a thing. But heres the break down: Griffin liked Tyler who liked Kyra who also liked Tyler but had a small crush on Simon who also liked Kyra. Oh and Tyler kind of liked Griffin too. It was unnecessary and added clumps to the plot but I powered through. I still really did enjoy the book. I love the cover too. But the love square was just a little ridiculous.

Something I found problematic was that Kyra’s mind could power the UFO and that has nothing to do with DNA so the science didn’t really match up. I’m a nerd for science which is why I’m picking on that but yeah.

Something that irked me was the nickname that Kyra’s dad had for her: Kyr. How do you even pronounce that? Ky would be better. Or just don’t shorten a name that’s already short. Idk, I’m just being bitchy (I’m sick, blame it on that).

3/5

ps. Blame this shitty review on my cold too. I can’t even breathe out of my nose. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

