The Replaced by Kimberly Derting

The Replaced

The Replaced is the second book in The Taking trilogy. I read The Taking a little while ago (about two years) and I remember I read it in one sitting because I enjoyed it that much. The books are basically about the alien abduction of Kyra and how she was gone for 5 years and didn’t age a bit. And she discovers what she is and that theres this government operation going on that the public doesn’t know about. Its a really cool concept and the way Derting executes it is marvelous. Only I do have a few complaints.

Back then I wasn’t in college and I didn’t know how some things should be written. And because of school I tend to analyze books more than enjoy them now.

I don’t know who started it, but I’m always going to refer to The Hunger Games when there’s a love triangle involved. This book just so happened to have had a love triangle in it. And if anyone knows me, they know I’m not a big fan of relationships, but I loved Kyra and Tyler together. They had such a cute start, and a love triangle isn’t realistic because one, if a guy doesn’t respect that you have a boyfriend, he won’t respect you, and two, a guy typically backs off when they find out that the girl they like is taken (no pun intended). So I wasn’t a fan of the love triangle in this story. Simon as a supportive best friend would’ve been a much more compelling story.

The inciting incident– for those of you who don’t know, an inciting incident is when the story begins. But the inciting incident for this story was amazing. It started quick and the confusion and anticipation was there for the narrator as well as the reader. A+ for the inciting incident.

The foreshadowing was a little messy in my taste. I’m normally good at picking up on things and so I saw certain things coming even though Kyra seemed a little reluctant to do so.

There was a lot of authorial intrusion and telling instead of showing. Some things were explained that were blatantly obvious. It was somewhat annoying and I skipped over some of it. Verbs were used like ‘see’, i.e., “I see Simon walk over to Natty.” a better sentence would be, “Simon walks over to Natty.” it brings the reader and the narrator closer and you have a better word economy.

But overall, I did like the book and I will be reading the third (it’s already on my shelf). I probably won’t keep the series but it depends how the last book ends.

3.5/5

Leave a Reply

