More Than This by Patrick Ness

more than thisMore Than This is more than you would think. Sorry, I just had to say that. But seriously though, picking this book up a few months ago, I would’ve never expected it to end how it did.

When you read the summary, you know straight off the bat? back? that Seth dies. And he literally dies in the first chapter. And not only is it a very vivid and detailed death, the why he dies is like my biggest fear so there was that.

But Seth wakes up in this death-like-limbo-hell. You’re just as confused as he is. You have every question he has. The book even ends with many questions not asked and I think that’s the point of it. It kind of makes you reassess your life.

The ambiguity is what this book required. You can’t have an answer or ‘closing all ties’ ending. It wouldn’t do it justice.

Throughout the book, Seth encounters two other people. The setting is in England, and one of them has broken English, and you can tell that he does because of the way that Ness wrote his dialogue. He didn’t overdo it though. It was a nice, even amount of broken English. Each character had a voice of their own. I knew who was speaking without the tag behind it. The book is just brilliant. It deserves more awards.

Patrick Ness continues to amaze me with all his works. I haven’t disliked a single one yet and I don’t think I will. I mention this book all the time because I want everyone to suffer the beauty that is A Monster Calls.

Please, do yourself a favor and read this book. Read all his books. Especially A Monster Calls.

5/5

Leave a Reply

