Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry

9743801

I read this quicker than I had planned. I would like to thank the library for existing.

Don’t get me wrong, this book is good. It doesn’t follow Jonas like I wish it would. But Gathering Blue is the second book in The Giver Quartet. It’s a stand alone book that follows Kira, a thirteen-year-old that lives in a village and has strict rules. Gathering Blue has the same concepts and leaders and roles that The Giver had.

But I liked the Giver a lot more than I liked this book. I probably won’t read the rest just for the fact that it doesn’t have any of the previous characters in it.

That being said, there were a lot of nice and colorful descriptions in this book. The title, like The Giver, has a meaning within the book. Which was predictable about halfway through. A couple of other things were predictable too but I’m blaming that on the fact that this is a middle grade book and not young adult or new adult.

4/5

One thought on “Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry

Leave a Reply

