The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

the sky is everywhere

So this book is about Lennie Walker (she has my last name, it was kind of trippy) but Lennie just lost her sister, Bailey. And Bailey had a boyfriend, Toby. Ok so Lennie took a month off school for mourning her sister and in that month they got a new student, Joe. And this is where it gets weird and downright horrible. I’m not giving away spoilers because this is in the summary on the back. But Lennie and Toby (BAILEY’S BOYFRIEND) start making out and shit and then when Lennie goes back to school of course she has a thing with Joe and it’s just messy.

Summary over, my thoughts on this book? Well I only read this book because I’ll Give You the Sun is such a precious book to me that I thought this one would be equally beautiful. And don’t get me wrong, it is. There are numerous times when Nelson wrote something so metaphorically beautiful that it paints a vivid color in your mind. But The Sky is Everywhere wasn’t at that level that I‘ll Give You the Sun was at. I just didn’t like the concept of fooling around with your dead sisters boyfriend.

But it was a colorful book. I’m not sure if I’ll be keeping the copy on my shelf but it’s a solid 4/5

Leave a Reply

