We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

16143347

Wow. I really did not expect that ending. I love twists and well this one had a crazy twist. Damn.

But the book is about Cady (I had to channel Mean Girls when saying her name). But Cady suffered a brain injury during the summer time one year and she doesn’t remember what happened and no one will tell her because they want her to come to terms with it on her own time.

In this book you learn as she does. Everything just makes you more curious about this book. With the style the author wrote to the fairy tales that Cady writes. Everything said in this book has a meaning to the bigger picture.

Looking back now I can see the foreshadowing in certain areas of the books and certain lines. I had ideas of what happened to her like maybe she was raped or beaten unconscious or that she smacked her head on some rocks when she went swimming, but I did not see the ending coming.

I would definitely read this again but I’m giving it four stars out of five because at times I didn’t know if I was in the past or present. There should have been an easier identifier so the reader would know, but other than that.

4/5

2 thoughts on “We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

  1. I did think for a second that that could be the ending while I was still on part 3 or 4, but when Gat was talking about Heathcliff and how he became what everyone thought he was, I really thought it was something he’d done that caused the accident. I loved that the final paragraph was so similar to the start but when you know what’s happened, it means something different. I also liked Cady’s retelling of fairytales in a way that told you more and more about the family each time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

