Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

wink poppy midnight

I’m not even sure how to classify this book. But it’s intriguing. I almost want to classify is as a mystery because of reasons that I’ll get to.

But Wink Poppy Midnight is about Wink, Poppy, and Midnight. I love these names. I thought it was just an interesting title at first but then reading the synopsis, I saw that it’s the characters names.

This book is told in the alternating POV’s of Wink, Poppy, and Midnight. You get the main story through Midnight’s POV, but you get interesting backstory through Poppy and you get quirky thoughts with Wink.

The book is mystical, especially when it comes to Wink’s POV. She’s a–I want to say gypsy, because her mom is a tarot card reader and palm reader. Wink tells tales to her siblings and she’s very, I don’t want to say superstitious, but she’s a lesser form of it if that makes sense. I love Wink.

Poppy is a bitch. But she’s probably my favorite of the three. She has the most character development (externally that is). She’s a bully in the worst definition of the name. But it’s interesting to be inside her head. Although she had more backstory than anything, I still looked forward to her POV. She was an in-depth character that had some relatable thoughts. She was trying to find herself in the worst possible way.

Reading the book, I had quickly identified who the hero was, who the villain was, and who the liar was. But getting further into the book, I found it harder to figure out who was who. It was like at one point they all became the hero and then they all became the villain and then they were all the liar. It was at this point that I realized that everyone is a hero, villain, and liar in their story as well as other peoples stories. You’re not one definite thing and I think that’s important that she’s entertaining us with that lesson.

It was a quick read and a cute story. The cover is adorable. The character’s are imperfectly perfect. It’s one of my favorite books.

5/5

One thought on “Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

Leave a Reply

