Prince’s Gambit by C.S. Pacat

Okay, so I gotta clear some things up from my review of Captive Prince. The review sounded like I didn’t like it, but I did. I liked Damen and the whole concept of him hiding who he is to the one person that wanted to kill him. That one thing was compelling. It was also how Laurent and Damen were slowly growing closer in Captive Prince. You saw the beginning of it and it was dangerous.

Beverly also hyped me up to read the second book and so I did. And I’m so glad I did. (I was probably going to do it anyway, just not as quickly)

And that brings me into the review for Prince’s Gambit:

Screen Shot 2016-04-23 at 9.54.29 PM Screen Shot 2016-04-23 at 9.54.42 PMScreen Shot 2016-04-23 at 9.54.59 PM Screen Shot 2016-04-23 at 9.54.05 PM

Prince's GambitBeverly told me that ‘gambit’ means that you sacrifice something for the bigger picture and well. I don’t wanna spoil anything.

BUT HOLY SHIT

I am dying.

C.S. Pacat, you have killed me.

Okay but let’s start out with other things. So slowly through the series I started to ship Laurent and Damen. Laurent is still a total ass, but he’s Damen’s ass. (Literally)

It’s everything I wanted Captive Prince to be. But I’m going to go with my original statement, Captive Prince was more like a prequel to the main story. Still good, but… Prince’s Gambit is wow. It’s wonderfully page-turning.

Their relationship is slowly built throughout the book. They started trusting each other and taking advice from each other. Damen was the one to stick up to Laurent most of the time, which I absolutely loved. It was a growing weakness with Laurent.

There were many elements that I liked in this book. Between Damen and Laurent there was consent and trust. They confided in each other (confided is a strong word for Laurent but still). Damen wasn’t treated as a slave at all and he actually got his collar removed. FINALLY.

Laurent is a literal genius. I want to know his thought process. He has a plan for every possibility. I don’t understand it. He is so sneaky and always ahead of everybody. Maybe it’s a Vere thing because The Regent is similar. You also finally get to see Laurent vulnerable but even that isn’t a lot because he is so guarded within himself. I can’t wait to learn his reaction to Damen being Prince Damianos.

The one thing that did trip me up was that the dialogue had one quotation mark ‘ instead of two “. I’m used to two and I didn’t realize this until about ten pages in (which explained why I was so confused). So I had to go back and read some of the dialogue again. It’s weird though because Captive Prince has two quotation marks. Oh well.

Back to what I liked. Just all the deceit that Damen is putting Laurent through. It’s going to be devastating when he finds out. But I also don’t know what to expect from Laurent, maybe he already knows. (Probably not).

I don’t think the truth will set anyone free. And I don’t know who to feel sorry for about it.

BUT THE ENDING.

I’ve been waiting for that to happen since page one. I applaud you, Pacat. I finished reading this with Beverly around so I don’t have my copy of Kings Rising with me. Really wish I brought it though.

The book is everything that Beverly said. I can’t wait to finish the series so I can start fangirling over all the fanart on Tumblr and not worry about spoilers.

I love my Damianos. My future dog is getting that name.

5/5

Leave a Reply

