The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

perks of being a wallflowerWhat a precious soul Charlie is. I read this book with the intention of reading a book to a movie I absolutely adored. And I came away to appreciating this book more that I anticipated.

Of course the books are always better. In my opinion, I think that they’re pretty equal. I’m going to be watching the movie soon though, I bought it the other day so I can.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower is written by Stephen Chbosky. It’s written in a letter style and is broken up by different lengths of letters. And the book is also in four parts. At the start of this book I was really invested. The first page dragged me in with the line “I am both happy and sad and I’m still trying to figure how that could be.” This line hit me with something I’ve been dealing with lately and it made me want to get further into this book as quickly as possible. It took me three days to finish this book and it only took so long because I read between my breaks at work.

It took me a couple of letters to finally understand that there’s more wrong with Charlie than he knows. He got distracted very easily in his letters but it wasn’t overbearing. He was scatter-brained and ADD more than anything. I don’t know much about autism (I’m going to ask my friend some questions about it ’cause she’s an expert) but I think Charlie may have been autistic.

He’s such a charming and innocent person. I wanted him to stay in that mind-frame for a fifteen-year-old boy. And he was so precious and loved by everyone. Nobody took advantage of him and they adored him to pieces. They all knew he was special in some way and that didn’t change how they treated him. It was such a heartwarming read on life. And I got emotional near the ending of the book. It’s really rare for me to get an emotional attachment (near the point of crying) with a book.

(The Fault in Our Stars by John Green was first to make me cry. But A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness ruined my life. I was balling my eyes out at work.)

5/5

Leave a Reply

